Wednesday, July 8, 2015

Iowa Joins 9 Other States in Enacting the FSMB Interstate Medical Licensure Compact

Following Alabama, Idaho, Minnesota, Montana, Nevada, South Dakota, Utah, West Virginia, and Wyoming, Iowa enacted the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact earlier this month. The legislation was signed into law by Governor Terry Branstad and received endorsements from the Iowa Board of Medicine, the Iowa Academy of Family Physicians, the Iowa Hospital Association, the Iowa Medical Society, and others.

According to a press release by the FSMB, "The final model Interstate Medical Licensure Compact legislation was released in September 2014. Since then, 19 state legislatures have introduced the Compact legislation and nearly 30 state medical and osteopathic boards have publicly expressed support for the Compact. The Compact has been endorsed by a broad coalition of health care stakeholders, including the American Medical Association (AMA)."

For the full release, please click here.