Tuesday, August 25, 2009

TJC Names Two New Commissioners to Board

The Joint Commission has named two new members to its Board of Commissioners. The members were appointed by the American Hospital Association for three-year terms, starting in January 2010.

"Nancy Howell Agee is the chief operating officer and executive vice president for Carilion Clinic in Roanoke, Virginia. Her primary responsibility is serving as the chief executive officer of Carilion Medical Center, an 825-bed tertiary care teaching hospital, which serves as one of five Level I Trauma Centers in Virginia, and co-leading the development of an organized medical group. In addition to her work at Carilion, Agee was appointed by the governor of Virginia to the Radford University Board of Visitors, and she currently chairs the Board of the Virginia Hospital and Healthcare Association and the Foundation of Roanoke Valley. Agee earned an undergraduate degree at the University of Virginia, received a master’s degree from Emory University and participated in postgraduate studies at the Kellogg School of Business, Northwestern University.

R. Timothy Rice, F.A.C.H.E., has served as president and chief executive officer of the Moses Cone Health System in Greensboro, North Carolina since 2004. He earned a bachelor of science in pharmacy from Washington State University and a master’s in health administration from Duke University. He is a Fellow in the American College of Healthcare Executives and chair-elect of the board of directors of the North Carolina Hospital Association. Rice is active in the community serving as a board chair for the Greensboro Partnership, the Central Atlantic VHA Board, and the United Way of Greensboro Campaign. "

The 29-member Board of Commissioners is TJC's governing body. The Board is composed of representatives from the American Hospital Association, American Medical Association, American College of Physicians, American College of Surgeons, American Dental Association, six public members, one representative of the nursing profession, and president Mark Chassin, M.D., M.P.P., M.P.H.

No comments: