Monday, November 21, 2011

NCQA Announces New ACO Accreditation

NCQA is announcing its new Accountable Care Organization (ACO) Accreditation. This first-of-its-kind program builds on patient-centered medical homes and provides an independent evaluation of organizations' ability to coordinate the high-quality, efficient, patient-centered care expected of ACOs. It helps providers make the challenging-though much-needed-transition to ACOs, which will be expected to have a "comprehensive and cohesive" approach to primary care.

The program evaluates organizations in seven categories:

1. ACO Structure and Operations
2. Access to Needed Providers
3. Patient-Centered Primary Care
4. Care Management
5. Care Coordination and Transitions
6. Patient Rights and Responsibilities
7. Performance Reporting and Quality Improvement

NCQA ACO Accreditation includes three levels, representing varying degrees of capability for coordinating care and reporting and improving quality.

Organizations that wish to apply for NCQA ACO Accreditation must complete an application. Information provided in the application will be used to determine eligibility. Find ACO publications that include the survey and information on how to apply and the data submission process here <>

An Educational Assessment is available for organizations in the early stage of ACO development or that are not currently pursuing accreditation. It provides the organization a chance to dialogue with NCQA about its performance against the standards and to receive an in depth review of areas to improve.

For more information about NCQA's ACO Accreditation and other NCQA evaluation programs, visit <> or contact NCQA Customer Support at 888-275-7585.

1 comment:

Chad said...

The Patient Centered Medical Home(PCMH) model combined with NCQA accreditation provides extra layers of accountability and security. It is a long process, but it is a natural fit for our organization. Recently the National Committee for Quality Assurance NCQA designated all 25 Family Physicians Group clinics as Level 3 recognized practices, the first and only recognized PCMH in Central Florida.